Skirball Faculty recognized in the NYU Langone Medical Center Annual Report

Wed, 10/09/2013 - 4:51am


The latest edition of the NYU Langone Medical Center Annual Report recognized the accomplishments of research faculty in the institution. Among these, five Skirball Faculty were highlighted for their achievements. 
Bringing Knowledge to the World (annual report page 16)
  • Wen-Biao Gan delved into the physical changes to neurons when memories change. Creating a fear memory reduces a neuron’s spines in specific places, while extinguishing the fear memory causes spines to grow back, partially erasing traces of the fearful memory. This work was published in Nature.
Recognizing World Class Talent (annual report page 18)
  • Robert Froemke was named a Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences and awarded a fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation for his studies of neuroplasticity.
  • Dan R. Littman became the ninth member of our faculty elected to the Institute of Medicine. He was selected for his seminal contributions to numerous fields, including our understanding of the molecular basis of immune recognition, HIV pathogenesis, and T-cell differentiation and selection; and the role of commensal bacteria (symbiotic bacteria that are neither harmful nor helpful to their host) in immune system development and regulation.
  • Niels Ringstad received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers for his groundbreaking research on neuropeptides.
  • Agnel Sfeir was recognized with a Damon Runyon–Rachleff Innovation Award from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation for her work identifying novel strategies to thwart tumor progression.

Click here to view the annual report.